TRAVEL UPDATES. January 2022.


Kazakhstan’s border largely remains closed to foreign citizens with highly limited exception, including :

– diplomats;

– direct-family members of Kazakh citizens;

– Kazakhstan residency ID holders;

– business/work/private purpose travelers with getting prior KZ Government entry permit (МВК)

– citizens (NOT RESIDENTS) of the countries with which Kazakhstan resumed direct air communication.

TRAVEL UPDATES. January 2022


Effective from January 2022, Kazakhstan has resumed visa-free regime for citizens of following 54 countries:

TRAVEL UPDATES. January 2022

1. Australia 
2. Austria 
3. Bahrain 
4. Belgium 
5. Bulgaria 
6. Canada 
7. Chile 
8. Colombia 
9. Croatia 
10. Cyprus 
11. Czech Republic 
12. Denmark 
13. Estonia 
14. Finland 
15. France 
16. Germany 
17. Greece 
18. Hungary 

19. Iceland 
20. Indonesia 
21. Ireland 
22. Israel 
23. Italy 
24. Japan 
25. Kuwait 
26. Latvia 
27. Liechtenstein 
28. Lithuania 
29. Luxembourg 
30. Malaysia 
31. Malta 
32. Mexico 
33. Monaco 
34. Netherlands
35. New Zealand 
36. Norway 

37. Oman 
38. Philippines 
39. Poland 
40. Portugal 
41. Qatar 
42. Romania 
43. Saudi Arabia 
44. Singapore 
45. Slovakia 
46. Slovenia 
47. Spain 
48. Sweden 
49. Switzerland 
50. Thailand 
51. United Kingdom 
52. USA 
53. Vatican 
54. Vietnam 

Citizens of listed states can stay in Kazakhstan without visa for up to 30 days.

At the same time nationals of following countries may arrive to Kazakhstan directly or transit without “MVK-resolution”: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, China, Czech Republic, Georgia, Germany, Great Britain, Hungary, India, Italy, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Maldives, Montenegro, Netherlands, Poland, Qatar, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey, UAE, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, Japan.


 From June 2021, foreigners can get a Kazakhstan visa upon arrival at the Aktau airport. Also, visas on arrival are available at the airports of Almaty and Astana (Nur-Sultan).

We remind you that such visas are issued to citizens of those countries where Kazakh consular offices are absent.

According to the current rules, the following categories of visas can be processed at the airport:
• investor A5
• business B1-B3
• private B10
• tourist B12
• work C3

TRAVEL UPDATES. January 2022
TRAVEL UPDATES. January 2022


Is a negative COVID-19 test (PCR) required?

Yes, it’s required.

Every passenger above 5 years old travelling to Kazakhstan by air without a PCR test, not older than 72 hours, will be banned from boarding to the flight.

The same requirements will apply to all railway, maritime and other types of travelers arriving in Kazakhstan.


TRAVEL UPDATES. January 2022

* By filling out this form you consent to the collection and processing of your personal data.